Revisiting my old home…

My old house, a home then,
In my mind memories flood
Of another year, sweet muse,
Weekends of short shrifts ,
Calves, cats and cups of tea,
Of untiring dicta by elders,
Of sly curiosities of young,
Of neighbors’ indifference
Fear of lanky, haughty, lenders,
Hoping death of debts,
Praying for pelf,
Yester grandeur,
Spurned, shy loves,
Rain water gushes,
Dreams in reams,
Barefoot realities,
Kindled thoughts,
All that I now recognize,
The tamarind tree,
Sadder than before,
On seeing me, a tear
Of compassion
Offering me renewed shade
Me, now a weary stranger
To my own house,
A tired traveler
Dispossessed.

4 thoughts on “Revisiting my old home…

  1. A wealth of imagery, brought back memories of childhood homes, especially the water gushing and the sad tamarind tree.

Leave a Reply

